Crispy Arbi

Life’s been a bit hectic lately with a lot of travelling for both of us. I haven’t cooked anything special since some time but it just occurred to me that even everyday cooking is special. A few weeks ago when I made a thali for weekend lunch, I mentioned a thali is like a celebration of everyday cooking. Keep a number of everyday dishes together and you have a special occasion dish! So this weekend I thought I will share recipes of some simple dishes I cooked over the week. Hope you enjoy them…

The first time I had arbi, my mom had to masquerade it as potato vegetable because I was such a fussy child that I never went beyond potato and okra! To her surprise, I really liked this “new kind of potato” 🙂 and it was only then that its real name was revealed!

Crispy Arbi

Preparation Time: 5 mins | Cooking time: 20 mins| Serves 2

Ingredients

250 gms arbi

1 inch ginger, finely chopped

2-3 green chillies, finely chopped

1 tsp ajwain

¼ tsp red chilli powder

¼ tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp coriander powder

1 tsp amchoor (dry mango) powder

A pinch of asafoetida (hing)

Salt to taste

Method

  • Pressure cook arbi with 1 cup water for 2 whistles
  • Peal and press between your palms, keep aside
  • Heat oil in a pan
  • Turn to low flame and add hing, ajwain, salt, turmeric, red chilli and coriander powder
  • When the ajwain starts to crackle, add arbi, green chillies and ginger
  • Coat well with the spices
  • Keep turning the arbi in between and cook open until brown and crisp
  • Sprinkle a little amchoor powder, mix well and serve as a side.

Health Benefits: Arbi like potato is a root vegetable, high in starch but with better nutritional qualities. It has 3 times more dietary fibre. It’s an excellent source of potassium and also contains calcium, Vitamins A, E &B, magnesium, manganese and copper.

However, taro root contains calcium oxalates, associated with gout and kidney stones. It is thus inedible raw and must be cooked properly by boiling for sufficient amount of time to reduce the oxalates.